Call for Abstracts

As you will be aware, an in-person 2021 Annual Meeting of the CGU will not be taking place. However, as was the case last summer, the CGU is planning an online series of oral sessions, workshops, section meetings and a Union-wide Annual General Meeting. The sessions will take place online throughout June and July, with the framework, schedule, and content of the meeting appearing on the CGU website in the coming weeks. This page is to serve as an initial Call for Abstracts for over a dozen online sessions. The titles and conveners of these sessions are listed below, along with information on where to submit abstract submissions.

Click the following link for an Abstract submission template. This year abstract submission fees are waived but we are requiring that presenting authors have renewed (or joined) the CGU for 2021, prior to submitting their abstract. Please send completed submissions to info@cgu-ugc.ca with a subject heading that states “Session (number 1-15)” in order to facilitate efficient filing upon receipt of the e-mail. For any inquiries regarding the structure of the planned activity, please e-mail the same address but with a different format for the subject heading.

Currently, the following sessions are planned:

SOLID EARTH SECTIONHYDROLOGY SECTIONBIOGEOSCIENCES SECTIONGEODESY SECTION
(SESSION 1.) Studying the Earth’s interior using seismic imaging
Tianshi Liu (University of Toronto, tianshi.liu@mail.utoronto.ca)
Riddhi Dave (Université du Québec à Montréal, riddhidave6@gmail.com)
Omid Bagherpur Mojaver (Université du Québec à Montréal, omid.bagherpur@gmail.com)
Clément Estève (McGill University, clement.esteve@mail.mcgill.ca)
Bin He (University of Toronto, binhebj@gmail.com)

(SESSION 2.) Lithospheric evolution of the Canadian Cordillera and its antecedents (co-sponsored by the GAC Geophysics Division)
Phil McCausland (Western University, pmccausl@uwo.ca)

(SESSION 3.) Challenges and opportunities in connecting Earth processes and observations
Ian Lumb (York University, ianlumb@yorku.ca)

(SESSION 4.) Lithosphere tectonics and mantle dynamics
Russ Pysklywec (University of Toronto, russ@es.utoronto.ca)
Claire Currie (University of Alberta, claire.currie@ualberta.ca)
Erkan Gün (University of Toronto, erkan.gun@mail.utoronto.ca)

(SESSION 5.) Solid Earth Section – general contributions
Fiona Darbyshire (Université du Québec à Montréal, darbyshire.fiona_ann@uqam.ca)
Andrew Schaeffer (Geological Survey of Canada, andrew.schaeffer@canada.ca)

(SESSION 6.) New insights on the forest-water nexus
Jason Leach (Natural Resources Canada, jason.leach@canada.ca)

(SESSION 7.) Advances in global water, water connectivity, and water infrastructure data
Penny Beames (McGill University, penny.beames@mail.mcgill.ca)
Heloisa Macedo (McGill University, heloisa.ehaltmacedo@mail.mcgill.ca)
Florence Tan (McGill University, florence.tan@mail.mcgill.ca)

(SESSION 8.) Permafrost hydrology and hydrogeology: interactions, innovations, and challenges
Chris Spence (Environment Canada, chris.spence@canada.ca)
Peter Morse (Geological Survey of Canada, peter.morse@canada.ca)

(SESSION 9.) Observation and modelling of snow processes: new advances in an era of big data, UAVs, and high-performance computing
Chris Marsh (University of Saskatchewan, chris.marsh@usask.ca)
Vincent Vionnet (University of Saskatchewan, vincent.vionnet@usask.ca)
Phil Harder (University of Saskatchewan, phillip.harder@usask.ca)

(SESSION 10.) Hydrology Section – general contributions
Andrew Ireson (University of Saskatchewan, andrew.ireson@usask.ca)
Pete Whittington (Brandon University, whittingtonp@brandonu.ca)
April James (Nipissing University, aprilj@nipissingu.ca)

(SESSION 11.) Biogeosciences Section – general contributions
Maria Strack (University of Waterloo, maria.strack@uwaterloo.ca)
Britt Hall (University of Regina, britt.hall@uregina.ca)

(SESSION 12.) Setting the s-C-ene for ecosystem carbon cycling across natural and disturbed environments
Matthew Morison (University of Winnipeg, m.morison@uwinnipeg.ca)
Miranda Hunter (University of Waterloo, mlhunter@uwaterloo.ca)
Megan Schmidt (University of Waterloo, meg.schmidt@uwaterloo.ca)

(SESSION 13.) Nutrient cycling and water quality in human impacted ecosystems
Colin McCarter (McMaster University, mccartec@mcmaster.ca)
Colin Whitfield (University of Saskatchewan, colin.whitfield@usask.ca)

(SESSION 14.) Contaminant characterization, processes and transport
Carl Mitchell (University of Toronto Scarborough, carl.mitchell@utoronto.ca)

(SESSION 15.) General Geodesy and Geodynamics
Robert Kingdon (University of New Brunswick, Robert.Kingdon@unb.ca)